Virtual Round Table Web Conference

Storytelling in the Digital Era

Event Details

Storytelling in the Digital Era

Time: March 26, 2011 from 10:30am to 11am
Location: Adobe ConnectPro
Website or Map: http://lancelot.adobeconnect.…
Event Type: presentation
Organized By: Heike Philp
Latest Activity: Mar 26, 2011

Export to Outlook or iCal (.ics)

Event Description

Saturday, 26 March 2011 - 10:30am GMT
Hawaii 12:30am, Los Angeles 3:30am, New York 6:30am, London 10:30am, Paris 11:30pm, Dubai 2:30pm, New Delhi 4pm, Beijing 6:30pm, Tokyo 7:30pm, Sydney 9:30pm
For World Time click here http://tinyurl.com/26March1030amGMT

Main venue: http://lancelot.adobeconnect.com/virtual-round-table

In my presentation, I would like to outline my personal experiences of storytelling in the classroom with an emphasis on the role of  Web 2.0 tools and the use of images to enhance learning opportunities.

Storytelling in the 21st century has changed dramatically with the advent of new technologies.  It has become a much more dynamic, fluid, flexible and at times, multi-dimensional process, which uses all sorts of different media. Digital networks and social media can help spread a newsworthy story and make it go viral in minutes, thereby creating a generation of unexpected authors.  Not just one author but many authors can connect globally in the creation of  a story.  I will mention some innovative and collaborative storytelling projects I have personally been involved in, which have taken me to a new level. I will also share some great insights gained from my Electronic Village Online Digital Storytelling e-course and show how I responded to  some of  the  motivating storytelling tasks and challenges.

Bio
Janet Bianchini has been teaching  EFL for many years to students and teachers from around the globe.  She retains the same passion and enthusiasm for her work  as  when she first started on her chosen career path.  She has a special interest in integrating new technologies in her lessons. When she is not tending to her olive trees or menagerie, Janet occupies herself with various online projects involved with teaching and blogging. View Janet’s Abruzzo Edublog for more tips on technology,  or follow her on Twitter @janetbianchini

 

 

Comment Wall

Comment

RSVP for Storytelling in the Digital Era to add comments!

Join Virtual Round Table Web Conference

Comment by Janet Bianchini on March 25, 2011 at 3:42pm

Hi Carmel

Look forward to seeing you on Saturday!!

 

Best wishes

 

Janet x

Comment by Carmel Engin on March 22, 2011 at 4:56pm
Sounds really interesting Janet - see you on Saturday!

Attending (20)

Might attend (5)

Not Attending (3)

  • ”EnglishCentral:
  • LinguaTV
  • Lingorilla
  • Centre for English Language & Training
  • English 360
  • Exam English

© 2019   Created by Heike Philp.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service