Virtual Round Table Web Conference

Soundcloud for listening and writing practice

Event Details

Soundcloud for listening and writing practice

Time: March 26, 2011 from 5:30pm to 6:30pm
Location: Adobe ConnectPro
Website or Map: http://lancelot.adobeconnect.…
Event Type: workshop
Organized By: Heike Philp
Latest Activity: Mar 28, 2011

Export to Outlook or iCal (.ics)

Event Description

Saturday, 26 March 2011 – 5:30pm GMT

Hawaii 7:30am, Los Angeles 10:30am, New York 1:30pm, London 5:30pm, Paris 6:30pm, Dubai 9:30pm, New Delhi 11pm, Beijing 1:30am, Tokyo 2:30am (Sat), Sydney 4:30am (Sat)

For World Time click here http://tinyurl.com/26March530pmGMT

Venue: http://lancelot.adobeconnect.com/vrt2

Soundcloud is an audio web tool that allows users to upload various audio file types in order to enable listeners to have written conversations at any point during playback. This platform provides an ideal cross between receptive and productive skills practice. Given the right motivation and instruction, not only can students engage with a listening in class more autonomously than through conventional methods, but also participate in communal or individual writing activities related to audio easily and relevantly. In this presentation, I first introduce attendees to this valuable web tool and give suggestions about how its functionality can be adapted for classroom use. Once familiar, attendees are shown example ideas for activities applicable to different language levels. Finally, I will show concrete examples of how I’ve used this with my EAP students and what resulted from the activities. Throughout the presentation I will encourage participants to contribute ideas that come to them for their specific contexts.

Over a 15-year career, Tyson Seburn has been a teacher of many programs for many schools and Program Director for one as well as Manager of an industry book distributor. He is currently Director at Coursetree and an instructor in the International Foundation Program at University of Toronto. Avid tweeter and blogger, his current area of interest is purposeful integration of online technology in the classroom.



Comment Wall

Comment

RSVP for Soundcloud for listening and writing practice to add comments!

Join Virtual Round Table Web Conference

Comment by Tyson Seburn on March 28, 2011 at 5:23pm
Hi Tara ~ Cool!  Let me know how it goes!
Comment by Tara Benwell on March 28, 2011 at 4:05pm
Thanks for the presentation Tyson! I've just added Sound Cloud to the web links on EnglishClub.com. You inspired me to do a writing challenge on paraphrasing (will be my April challenge). It's something I haven't tried yet with my online learners, but I think some of them will really enjoy it. Thanks!
Comment by Brad Patterson on March 27, 2011 at 7:39am
was preparing dinner, and then had 5 minutes to hop on and catch you talk, and then BOOM.... it was kid time.  Great to see you briefly.  :)
Comment by Tyson Seburn on March 27, 2011 at 4:59am
I certainly couldn't!
Comment by Brad Patterson on March 25, 2011 at 6:58am

where's the "like" button?  :)   Tyson...could you say "no" to these guys?

 

Comment by Tyson Seburn on March 25, 2011 at 1:53am
Oh come on.  Surely a lifetime of audio-tool use for the classroom beats an evening with cute little rascals!  ;)
Comment by Brad Patterson on March 24, 2011 at 9:43pm
ooo shucks... in-laws have planned a dinner at that time now.  I am powerless! I'll try to sneak away, but there are little rascals of age 4 and 6 involved, and they're a ton of fun.  :)
Comment by Brad Patterson on March 24, 2011 at 6:44am
If Tyson's there, I'm there :)

Attending (13)

Might attend (4)

Not Attending (1)

  • ”EnglishCentral:
  • LinguaTV
  • Lingorilla
  • Centre for English Language & Training
  • English 360
  • Exam English

© 2019   Created by Heike Philp.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service