Virtual Round Table Web Conference

PANEL: aPLaNet The Power of PLNs

Event Details

PANEL: aPLaNet The Power of PLNs

Time: March 26, 2011 from 1pm to 2:30pm
Location: Adobe ConnectPro
Website or Map: http://lancelot.adobeconnect.…
Event Type: panel, discussion
Organized By: Heike Philp
Latest Activity: Mar 26, 2011

Export to Outlook or iCal (.ics)

Event Description

Saturday, 26 March 2011 - 1pm GMT
Hawaii 3am, Los Angeles 6am, New York 9am, London 1pm, Paris 2pm, Dubai 5pm, New Delhi 6:30pm, Beijing 9pm, Tokyo 10pm, Sydney 12am (midnight Sat/Sun)
For World Time click herehttp://tinyurl.com/26March1pmGMT

Main venue: http://lancelot.adobeconnect.com/virtual-round-table

Panelists are
  • Burcu Akyol
  • Graham Stanley
  • Marisa Constantinides
  • Shelly Terrell
  • Joel Josephson
  • Ann Foreman

Moderation: Cornelia Kreis-Meyer

European funded language project aPLaNet Autonomous "Personal Learning Networks" for Language Teachers is a European Union funded project to help language educators who are not yet using social networks to understand:

  •        What are social networks for language educators?
  •        Why they should use them?
  •        How they can get involved?

The project will help them join and use Internet Personal Learning Network (PLN) on social networks (SNs)

The three questions will be answered by showing language educators:

  1. What and how to use identified SNs (technical & teacher guides, videos)
  2. What resources and support is available within a PLN (resource templates workshops, guides, diaries)
  3. How they can build their own PLN through a mentoring system, provided by existing expert users who are language educators just like themselves (Websites, mentoring system, workshops, guides).

 

Graham Stanley spends half of his working life as a teacher of English at the British Council Young Learner Centre in Barcelona, Spain and the other half working as social media consultant on projects for the British Council such as aPLaNet (personal learning networks for teachers) and ITiLT (interactive whiteboards). He has a M.Ed. (University of Manchester, UK) in ELT & Educational Technology, and is also coordinator of the IATEFL Learning Technologies Special Interest Group.

 

Joel Josephson has been involved in Internet and high tech for 14 yrs. He founded 3 Internet companies. Founder of the Kindersite Project website in 2003, an educational resource used by 18,100 schools in 157 countries. Keynote speaker at European Conferences on using the Internet to disseminate to educators. His primary expertise is in Internet communications and research and disseminating over the Internet using Web 2.0 and Web 1.0 channels.He is a well-known member of over 80 social networks for educators and founded and runs the Facebook group EU_Educators.

Comment Wall

Comment

RSVP for PANEL: aPLaNet The Power of PLNs to add comments!

Join Virtual Round Table Web Conference

Comment by Graham Stanley on March 24, 2011 at 11:41pm
Ann Foreman of the British Council is also a panelist - could you add her to the description? Thanks!

Attending (15)

Might attend (5)

Not Attending (2)

  • ”EnglishCentral:
  • LinguaTV
  • Lingorilla
  • Centre for English Language & Training
  • English 360
  • Exam English

© 2017   Created by Heike Philp.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service