Virtual Round Table Web Conference

Language Bridge Technology - a New Approach to Learning EFL

Event Details

Language Bridge Technology - a New Approach to Learning EFL

Time: March 26, 2011 from 5:30pm to 6:30pm
Location: Adobe ConnectPro
Website or Map: http://lancelot.adobeconnect.…
Event Type: workshop
Organized By: Heike Philp
Latest Activity: Mar 26, 2011

Export to Outlook or iCal (.ics)

Event Description

Saturday, 26 March 2011 – 5:30pm GMT 
Hawaii 7:30am, Los Angeles 10:30am, New York 1:30pm, London 5:30pm, Paris 6:30pm, Dubai 9:30pm, New Delhi 11pm, Beijing 1:30am, Tokyo 2:30am (Sat), Sydney 4:30am (Sat)
For World Time click here http://tinyurl.com/26March530pmGMT

 

Venue: http://lancelot.adobeconnect.com/vrt3

  • When adults learn a foreign language and speak it fluently, they form a new language speech center in the brain that is separated from the native language center.
  • We don’t think in our native language; we think in a code language of symbols, images and associations.
  • The majority of adults (approx. 95%) loses their linguistic talent after the age of 18 and thinks the loss is irreversible.
  • A small proportion of adults (less than 5%) somehow preserve the child’s ability to learn a new language without reverting to cross-translation.
  • When adults learn a new word in a foreign language, they subconsciously associate it with a similar word in their native language and not with the image or situation.
  • The advice “learn like a child” is wishful thinking: adults need to employ particular tools or techniques to switch their brains to learn like a child.

About Arkady Zilberman

Although my background is in science and I have 11 patents to my name, my real passion has always been foreign languages. I had two jobs in Russia: I worked as a Head of a Research Laboratory developing new materials and I worked as a simultaneous interpreter in the former USSR.

During many years of my work as a scientist and simultaneous interpreter, I was trying to find an answer to the question: why do some people like me learn a foreign language easily, whereas most adults have a hard time with a foreign language, and many simply give up?

Comment Wall

Comment

RSVP for Language Bridge Technology - a New Approach to Learning EFL to add comments!

Join Virtual Round Table Web Conference

Attending (8)

Might attend (5)

Not Attending (2)

  • ”EnglishCentral:
  • LinguaTV
  • Lingorilla
  • Centre for English Language & Training
  • English 360
  • Exam English

© 2019   Created by Heike Philp.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service