Virtual Round Table Web Conference

Beyond Simulation & Role play

Event Details

Beyond Simulation & Role play

Time: March 25, 2011 from 3:30pm to 4pm
Location: Adobe ConnectPro
Website or Map: http://lancelot.adobeconnect.…
Event Type: presentation
Organized By: Heike Philp
Latest Activity: Mar 25, 2011

Export to Outlook or iCal (.ics)

Event Description

Friday, 25 March 2011 - 3:30pm GMT
Hawaii 5:30am, Los Angeles 8:30am, New York 11:30am, London 3:30pm, Paris 4:30pm, Dubai 7:30pm, New Delhi 9pm, Beijing 11:30pm, Tokyo 12:30am (Sat), Sydney 2:30am (Sat)
For World Time click here http://tinyurl.com/25March330pmGMT

 

VENUE: EduNation I Sandbox in Second Life

http://slurl.com/secondlife/EduNation/103/151/23

Live screenshare of Second Life in Adobe ConnectPro

http://lancelot.adobeconnect.com/secondlife

 

Virtual Worlds are considered an effective tool for role-play and simulation scenarios, providing a rich context in which toset activities. When students form real relationships, have real interactions, experience real emotions and really socialize, can the experience still be described as “simulation”?This presentation describes how virtual worlds can go beyond simple simulations and role-play, achieving a deeper level of engagement and immersion by using massive exposure to the target language with continuous feedback to achieve faster learning. 

About Shiv Rajendran
Shiv (www.shv.me) co-founded Languagelab.com in 2005 -- the oldest and largest virtual world languages school, with students in more than 70 different countries. Shiv has a Master’s degree in Digital Culture and Technology, a background using technology for a variety of purposes, and is a life-long gamer.

Comment Wall

Comment

RSVP for Beyond Simulation & Role play to add comments!

Join Virtual Round Table Web Conference

Comment by ALEXANDRA KOUKOUMIALOU on March 25, 2011 at 5:11pm
Thank you for the presentation, Shiv.  That was a very impressive array of teaching techniques and methodologies!!!
Comment by Heike Philp on March 24, 2011 at 1:26am

Hi Ola,

We will publish the URLs and SLURLs to the virtual venues shortly.

Please bear with us.

rgds Heike

Comment by Ola Nagi Ramadan bakri on March 24, 2011 at 12:25am
hi, Iam searching for the url of the event... isnot there a url for a conference room?

Attending (18)

Might attend (3)

Not Attending (3)

  • ”EnglishCentral:
  • LinguaTV
  • Lingorilla
  • Centre for English Language & Training
  • English 360
  • Exam English

© 2017   Created by Heike Philp.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service