Virtual Round Table Web Conference

Add a dimension to your teaching: an introduction to language learning in Virtual Worlds

Event Details

Add a dimension to your teaching: an introduction to language learning in Virtual Worlds

Time: October 9, 2010 from 4:30pm to 5pm
Location: Adobe ConnectPro
Website or Map: http://lancelot.emea.acrobat.…
Event Type: presentation
Organized By: Heike Philp
Latest Activity: Oct 9, 2010

Export to Outlook or iCal (.ics)

Event Description

Saturday, 9 October 2010 - 4:30pm GMT
Hawaii 6:30am, Los Angeles 9:30am, New York 12:30pm, London 5:30pm, Paris 6:30pm, Dubai 8:30pm, New Delhi 10:00pm, Beijing 12:30am (Sun), Tokyo 1:30am (Sun), Sydney 3:30am (Sun)
For World Time click HERE
http://tinyurl.com/9Oct430pmGMT

Venue: http://lancelot.emea.acrobat.com/virtual-round-table

Give an extra dimension to your own language learning/ acquisition, then apply it to your teaching. An introduction to language learning in virtual worlds.

Two enthusiastic language teachers and their ‘avatars’ describe their own personal and professional teaching and learning journeys through the magical, virtual 3D world of Second Life, reflecting on how a third dimension enhances the experience and effectiveness of language learning (whether for your own or your students’ benefit) and inviting you to join them in a supportive, collaborative and lively network of teachers from across the world.

They met on Edunation, SL, and they are active members of SLexperiments and AVALON.

About Antonella Berriolo
Antonella Berriolo teaches Italian at the Istituto italiano in Barcelona and at the Universidad Internacional de Catalunya. In Second Life, she enjoys creating learning tools, trying out new teaching techniques, and sharing with other language teachers. Her avatar, Anna Begonia, has been in SL nearly 4 years, and she has recently joined a role play group where she enjoys developing her English. Anna will always have red eyes. She maintains a blog here: http://aberriolo.wordpress.com/

About Helen Myers
Helen Myers is a teacher of French and a manager in a large UK secondary school, and Chair of the London branch of ALL (the Association of Language Learning) and its former president. Her main electronic means of communication is via the Yahoo mflresources forum which she oversees http://groups.yahoo.com/group/mflresources/. Her avatar Karelia Kondor is nearly 3 years old, and has enjoyed being Anna’s guinea pig in ‘Italianiamo’ as well as meeting fascinating people from all over the world. She will (nearly) always have pink hair. She has copied Anna’s idea of a blog here: http://kareliakondor.wordpress.com/

Comment Wall

Comment

RSVP for Add a dimension to your teaching: an introduction to language learning in Virtual Worlds to add comments!

Join Virtual Round Table Web Conference

Comment by Heike Philp on October 9, 2010 at 7:44pm
Helen and Anna,

You did such a fantastic job with the presentation.

KUDOS.

Heike
Comment by Helen Myers on October 9, 2010 at 7:22pm
Thanks to all of you who attended!
Here is the link to download the script and the links:
www.all-london.org.uk

Attending (9)

Might attend (7)

Not Attending (1)

  • ”EnglishCentral:
  • LinguaTV
  • Lingorilla
  • Centre for English Language & Training
  • English 360
  • Exam English

© 2017   Created by Heike Philp.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service